Advisory Council

Advisory Council 2016


The JIFSAN Advisory Council advises the Director on current issues in areas pertinent to the Institute's interests and responsibilities. These include issues in food safety, nutrition, and related areas. It also advises on areas in which potential JIFSAN research, education, or outreach programs are needed or for which current programs need modification. The Advisory Council meets twice a year and members are in contact with the Director throughout the year.


Donna Rosenbaum


Timothy Jackson

Corporate Members

General Mills, Inc.

Scott Hood, Director - Food Safety

Kraft Foods, Inc.

Representative TBD

MARS Chocolate North America

Dorothy Lagg, Sr. Manager - Food Safety & Microbiology

Abbott Nutrition

Representative TBD


Patrizia Barone, Director, Regional Regulatory Affairs

Cargill, Inc.

Joseph A. Scimeca, Vice President - Global Regulatory and Scientific Affairs

Waters Corporation

Vern Tisdale, Director - Business and Partnership Development

Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM)

Brent Flickinger, Vice President - Regulatory Affairs and Scientific Affairs; Product Quality


DeAnn L. Benesh, Manager - Regulatory Affairs, Food Safety Department

The Coca-Cola Company

Cody Wilson, Senior Director - Food Safety Center of Excellence

ConAgra Foods, Inc.

Steven J. Hermansky, Senior Director - Toxicology

Nestlé North America

Timothy Jackson, Director - Food Safety

Thermo Fisher Scientific

Representative TBD

Illumina, Inc.

Christiane Honisch, Director of Microbiology Markets

Monsanto Company

Kevin Glenn, Senior Science Fellow - Regulatory Policy and Scientific Affairs

McCormick & Company, Inc.

Roger T. Lawrence, Corporate Vice President - Global Quality & Regulatory

Lidl US

Lydia V. Rump, Director - Quality Assurance

Neogen Corporation

Edward Bradley, Chairman and CEO

Other Members

National Consumers League

Representative TBD

Leveille Associates

Gilbert A. Leveille, President

STOP Foodborne Illness

Deirdre Schlunegger, Chief Executive Officer

Food Safety Partners, Ltd.

Donna Rosenbaum, Consultant

International Food Information Council (IFIC)

Anthony O. (Tony) Flood, Director - Food Safety & Defense

Penn State University

Stephen Knabel, Professor

Updated: August 29, 2016