APEC Food Safety Cooperation Forum: Partnership Training Institute Network

SINGAPORE -- JIFSAN participated in the second Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Food Safety Cooperation Forum (FSCF) meeting hosted by co-chairs Australia and China, in Singapore on July 30, 2009, as part of the meetings of the APEC Sub-Committee on Standards and Conformance (SCSC) being held July 30 - August 6, 2009.-
As part of the APEC FSCF meeting, the first Partnership Training Institute Network (PTIN) workshop, entitled Examination of Hot Issues in Risk Analysis, was held from Saturday, August 1 to Sunday, August 2, 2009. The FSCF Partnership Training Institute Network (PTIN) was established in 2008 to leverage expertise and resources from the private sector and academia to fulfill FSCF capacity building priorities.

The workshop featured presentations by Dr. Robert Brackett of the Grocery Manufacturers Association; Dr. Stephen Sundlof Director, Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition, US Food and Drug Administration; Dr. David Goldman, Assistant Administrator, Office of Public Health and Science, Food Safety Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture; Drs. Jianghong Meng and Juliana Ruzante, Joint Institute for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, among others. Representatives from 18 APEC member economies attended, as well as key international organizations with an interest in food safety.

APEC economies will focus their attention on strengthening coordination of food safety capacity building activities, utilizing a broad range of government, industry and academic stakeholders through the new PTIN initiative developed by the United States of America (USA). The capacity building activities will include strengthening capacity in assessing food safety capacity building needs, food safety risk analysis, developing food laws, standards and enforcement systems, microbiological risk analysis and assessment, food safety risk communication, and chemical safety risk assessment, among others.

- Steve McCutcheon
Food Standards Australia New Zealand's CEO

The Partnership Training Institute Network (PTIN) for Food Safety will help improve the safety and security of the food supply by providing growers, manufacturers and regulators in the Asia-Pacific region with education and training that is consistent with International best practices.

- Dr. Robert Brackett
Chief Science Officer of the Grocery Manufacturers Association

Examination of Hot Issues in Risk Analysis

Download the agenda on the Australian Food Standards website here.


J.M. Ruzante
Overview of Risk Analysis
Download PDF (385 KB)

J. Meng & J.M. Ruzante
Food Safety Risk Analysis Program at JIFSAN
Download PDF (3.24 KB)


APEC, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation was established in 1989 to further enhance economic growth and prosperity for the region and to strengthen the Asia-Pacific community. APEC's 21 Member Economies are Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; The Republic of the Philippines; The Russian Federation; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; United States of America; Viet Nam. The 21 Member Economies account for approximately 40.5% of the world's population, approximately 54.2% of world GDP and about 43.7% of world trade.

On 4 April 2007, the APEC Food Safety Cooperation Forum (FSCF) agreed to work together to build robust food safety systems amongst APEC member economies so as to accelerate progress towards harmonization of food standards with international standards to improve public health and facilitate trade. Following the APEC FSCF meeting and the signing of the Hunter Valley 2007 Statement the APEC Sub-Committee for Standards and Conformance (SCSC) endorsed the FSCF outcome documents and it was agreed that the FSCF would operate as an advisory body to APEC (via the SCSC) on food safety related project proposals. The FSFC is co-chaired by Australia (FSANZ) and China (the Import and Export Food Safety Bureau, General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of the People's Republic of China). This cooperative approach was strongly supported by APEC Economic Leaders in 2007 as an important means to enhance human security in the region.

In 2008, the APEC FSCF Partnership Training Institute Network (PTIN) was established by the Sub-Committee on Standards and Conformance (SCSC) under the authority of the FSCF, to enlist leadership from the private sector and academia to bring additional expertise, resources, and commitment towards fulfilling the critical capacity building needs and goals identified by APEC Member Economies in the FSCF Hunter Valley 2007 Statement and the FSCF Operating Principles.

The goal of the APEC FSCF PTIN is to support and assist APEC Member Economies in designing, implementing, and promoting the projects and priorities consistent with the FSCF Implementation Plan 2008-2011.