Advisory Council


The JIFSAN Advisory Council advises the Director on current issues in areas pertinent to the Institute's interests and responsibilities. These include issues in food safety, nutrition, and related areas. It also advises on areas in which potential JIFSAN research, education, or outreach programs are needed or for which current programs need modification. The Advisory Council meets twice a year and members are in contact with the Director throughout the year.

2023 Members


Dr. Rebecca Hummel


Programs & Emerging Issues: Dr. Erin Crowley

Membership: TBD

Corporate Members

Dr. Patrizia Barone
Regional Regulatory Affairs Director

Mr. Chad Weida
Abbott Nutrition
Associate Director, Abbott Laboratories

Mr. Larry Lichter
McCormick & Company, Inc.
Vice President, Global Quality and Food Safety

Dr. Erin S. Crowley
Q Laboratories
Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Rebecca Hummel
MARS Wrigley North America R&D MARS
Associate Director, Quality and Food Safety, Central Systems

Alternate: Dr. Maria Calderon
MARS Wrigley North America R&D MARS
Senior Director, Quality and Food Safety, North America

Dr. Kevin N. Boyd
The Hershey Company
Manager, Allergens and Toxicology

Dr. Daniel R. DeMarco
Eurofins Microbiology Laboratories
Associate Director of Science

Dr. Trevor Phister
PepsiCo International
Principal Scientist

Alternate: Dr. Arnab Sarkar
PepsiCo International
Senior Director
Food Saftey, Global Research and Development

Other Members

Ms. Donna Rosenbaum
Food Safety Partners, Ltd.

Mr. Anthony O. “Tony” Flood
International Food Information Council
Director, Food Safety & Defense

Ms. Mitz D. Baum
STOP Foodborne Illness
Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Patsy M. Brannon
Cornell University
Professor and Director, Cornell Dietetic Internship

Dr. Michael P. Doyle
University of Texas at San Antonio
The Rita and John Feik Distinguished University Chair in Medical Chemistry